Theme:  Airplanes
Colors:  Red, Blue, Sky Blue, White, and Gold
{As Seen On:  Kara’s Party Ideas}

I had the pleasure of planning and decorating for a sweet little boy’s first birthday!  The theme the mom wanted was airplanes.  She sent me three pictures of what she had in mind.  Ultimately, I came up with a kid-friendly design in bright colors that would be appealing to the younger kids.  Now that I direction with the theme, it was onto developing the decorations.  My décor consisted of handmade signs, a backdrop made of various types of streamers, sugar cookies and rice krispies I have baked and frosted, created gift boxes for the kids to take home, decorated the highchair, basically a complete transformation of the sunroom.  I also included a lot of personal touches to the table décor, and some of the treats.    I kept the cost down, by focusing on handmade decorations.  Overall, it was a big hit the family and definitely with the guests.  I had fun coming up with the décor for the party, and seeing the parent’s faces blown away.

Upon entry, I’ve made a Welcome Aboard signage at the door.

DSC_0786

At the foyer, I had guest Check-In, and write in their name on the clouds and post on the painted canvas board I had made.

 

 

The main table:
The client loved this particular website’s party decor and so I had a lot of inspiration from Jenny’s event for her son, Ben’s 3rd Birthday party.

you have to admit, the pilot hat on noah sure is cute! huh??

flower7flower8

I had utilized this website for their water bottle template – to match with the airplane theme from a fellow blogger How To Nest For Less: Train Themed Birthday Party.

flower9

As for the party favor boxes, I’ve utilized Tim Vandevall’s paper airplane template printed out for guest to fold.

Printable Paper Airplane Template
I have included airplane tattoos for the kiddos and adults!

The table is just filled with goodies to grab and take home.  I had fun coming up with airplane related treats.

flower3flower11flower10

I’ve also baked and frosted sugar cookies.  I still need more practice with the royal icing.  Thanks to Sweet Sugarbelle for her tips on making these!  Let me tell you, it is no joke, when it takes time to make and prepare these.  I may be artistic, but I am a novice when it comes to frosting.

The high chair:
Simple and fun!  Nothing more is necessary..

flower5

The birthday boy, party, and guests:

 

 

~*Need A Party Planner?*~

MLElogo

Need me to plan and setup an event for you in the DMV area?
Would you like me throw an event just like this for you?  I can make this happen for your special occasion!  Feel free to reach out to me via merrylavenderevents@gmail.com or fill out the form below.

Leave a comment